Clinical Lectures

Save the date for our next clinical webinar! 

Landing Page Paediatric Optometry Lecture Banner

Topic:

See Well, Play Well, and Be Well: The Relationship Between Vision, Physical Activity and BMI in Schoolchildren*

Date: December 2, 2021    Time: 10 am PST | 1 pm EST | 6 pm GMT | 7 pm CET

Presented by: Doctor Síofra Harrington Ph.D. (FAOI), Optometrist, Lecturer, Clinical Tutor and Researcher in Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin)

We all know that staying healthy at any age requires engaging in some form of physical exercise. But have you considered how sporting activities might benefit children’s eye health, particularly throughout childhood? During the lecture See Well, Play Well, and Be Well: The Relationship Between Vision, Physical Activity and BMI in Schoolchildren, Doctor Síofra Harrington reveals the results of a cross-sectional epidemiological study which investigated whether refractive error and vision problems in children are associated with increased sedentary behaviour and reduced physical activity and sports participation. The webinar will also analyse the relationship between vision problems and body mass index.

Take this opportunity to learn from an expert on Paediatric Optometry!

Secure your place today!

Ocuco Blog 

Check the Ocuco blog to learn about topics such as the control of myopia, glaucoma, dry eye and other blinding conditions.

Clinical Resources

Did you know that we host clinical webinars regularly? Visit the Clinical Resources webpage to watch previous clinical lectures at any time:

*This lecture is approved for 1 interactive CET point with the GOC for optometrists, dispensing opticians and contact lens opticians. It is also approved for 1 hour CE with COPE (COPE Course ID: 75461-FV).

Hosted By:

SIOFRA_450

Doctor Síofra Harrington   

Doctor Síofra Harrington is a lecturer, researcher, clinical supervisor with the School of Physics and Clinical and Optometric Sciences at Technological University Dublin, Ireland. She is a fellow of the Association of Optometrists Ireland (AOI). Doctor Harrington is the principal investigator for the Ireland Eye Study, which reported the prevalence of ametropia, amblyopia, and vision impairment in schoolchildren in Ireland. Doctor Harrington is the first author of six peer-reviewed academic publications and numerous academic poster presentations reporting Ireland Eye Study findings.